WANTED: Nominations of Numismatic Achievement

PNG Accepting Nominations for 2019 Awards


By Antoinette Rahn

One of the many things I appreciate about various organizations within the numismatic community is their commitment to recognizing and honoring people whose efforts help the hobby evolve.

I don’t mean to say I believe people do what they do for accolades and awards, because I do not. I believe for many in the hobby, awards and recognition are the unexpected, yet delightfully tasty filling in a delicious cake. There are so many wonderful things to enjoy and experience within numismatics that it stands to reason that advancements in the hobby are made. I recall reading a comment made by someone whose identity I fail to remember, wherein the person said “I love what I’m doing, and everything about that makes me want to do and be better.”

The Professional Numismatists Guild (PNG) is one of the organizations that understands the value of accomplishments in the hobby and the importance of recognition, and they are asking for your help in identifying the people behind outstanding achievements. The PNG is currently accepting nominations for its 2019 awards.

“Each year the PNG publicly recognizes outstanding achievements in the hobby and the profession by honoring deserving recipients with awards in a half-dozen categories. We cordially welcome and strongly encourage nominations from all collectors and dealers,” said PNG Executive Director Robert Brueggeman, in a press release issued recently.

The deadline for submitting nominees for the awards is May 31, 2019.

The awards are named after visionaries who helped elevate the hobby of numismatics in various ways. The award categories and contact information for submitting nominations are as follows:

Abe Kosoff Founders Award: Presented to a PNG member-dealer with a steadfast dedication to the entire numismatic community and who has made a significant contribution to the Guild or to the numismatic fraternity, in general, the past year. The award is named after PNG’s Founding President who spearheaded the 1953 launch of the organization. Committee Chairs: Richard Weaver and Wayde Milas. Emails: RWeaver@dvrcc.com and WMilas@rarecoa.com.

Sol Kaplan Award: To recognize efforts and contributions in combatting crimes against the numismatic community, this award is presented to someone who has given their time in an attempt to rid the profession of fraud and thievery. The award is jointly presented by the PNG and the Lewis M. Reagan Foundation. It is named after a former PNG President and Ohio dealer who was personally responsible for the apprehension of several people suspected of committing numismatic-related crimes. Committee Chair: Robert Brueggeman. Email: Bob@ppius.com.

Robert Friedberg Award: Presented to an author in recognition of an outstanding book or other literature. Named in honor of a publisher and author of numismatic reference books, this award is not automatically given each year. It is only given when there is deemed to be a worthy recipient or recipients. Committee Chair: James A. Simek. Email: nge3@comcast.net. Note: A copy of each book nominated for this year’s award must be submitted for delivery no later than May 31, 2019 to James A. Simek, P.O. Box 7157, Westchester, IL 60154-7157.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Presented to a numismatist for his/her extraordinary devotion to numismatics and who, over their lifetime, significantly contributed to the hobby or profession. Committee Co-Chairs: Brett Charville and John Brush. Emails: Brett@collectors.com and John@DavidLawrence.com.

Significant Contribution Award: Given to those who have made exceptional, beneficial efforts over the years on behalf of PNG and the profession, and also added to the hobby. Committee Co-Chairs: Barry Stuppler and Dana S. Samuelson. Emails: Barry@Stuppler.com and Dana@AmerGold.com.

Art Kagin Ambassador Award: This award is named after a former PNG President and nationally-known Iowa dealer who provided distinguished service as an advocate of numismatic goodwill. Committee Co-Chairs: Don Ketterling and Don Rinkor. Emails: DHKconsulting@verizon.net and Don@rinkor.com.

The winners of these awards will be announced during the annual PNG Day banquet slated for Aug. 12, which occurs after the PNG Day show and one day ahead of the start of the American Numismatic Association’s World’s Fair of Money®. Both the show and the fair will be held at the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center in Rosemont, Ill.

I’d wager a guess that you’ve met at least a few people in the hobby who embody many of the character traits described for the recipient of each award. Have you thought of taking the time and opportunity to nominate them for their efforts and accomplishments in the name of numismatics? There’s no better time than the present to participate in recognizing the good work of your fellow numismatists.

For more information about the PNG awards, visit www.PNGdealers.org, email info@PNGdealers.org or call 951-587-8300.







Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here